Jimmy Doherty's Escape to the Wild - Season 1

Jimmy Doherty's Escape to the Wild - Season 1

3 Episodes

The series will see Jimmy Doherty travelling the world to uncover the incredible stories of ordinary British families who have abandoned the rat race and chosen to set up homes for themselves in some of the most remote places on earth. Each episode follows Jimmy as he lives and works alongside a different family in a wildly different environment. From the gold rush Yukon territory of Northern Canada, to the jungle interior of a remote Indonesian island, to the banks of the River Nile in Uganda. Jimmy questions whether exchanging the stresses of modern living for a simpler existence has made these intrepid Brits any happier, and whether we can learn anything from their experience. In the series Jimmy faces harsh challenges, experiences first-hand what daily life is really like in these remote places and aims to challenge our preconceptions about life outside our overcrowded cities.

Jimmy Doherty's Escape to the Wild - Season 1
  • Indonesia

    Episode 1

    Jimmy Doherty travels to the other side of the world to meet a British couple who have ditched their nine-to-five jobs in England to raise a family on a tropical island in the Pacific Ocean. Surrounded by lush rainforest and one of the most beautiful coral reefs in the world, this place appears t...

  • Uganda

    Episode 2

    Jimmy Doherty journeys to the heart of Africa in Uganda to meet a young British couple and their three-month old baby, who are living on the banks of the legendary river Nile. Having found a plot of land, environmentalists Jenny and Charlie hope to create their very own Eden, using the resources ...

  • Yukon

    Episode 3

    Jimmy Doherty travels to the Yukon wilderness in Canada to find out what made a British couple quit the London rat race for a log cabin in bear country. Twice the size of the UK, yet with a population of just 34,000 people, the Yukon seems like the perfect place to get some peace and quiet. But w...